Since 1995, the Sandy Springs Society has recognized a volunteer in our community who exemplifies the spirit of community service by contributing to the betterment of Sandy Springs and acknowledges the individual’s contributions by donating a check for $1,000 to the 501(c)(3) charity of the recipient’s choice. Individuals who are paid for their service and members of the Society are not eligible, but members’ spouses and families are.

Spirit of Sandy Springs Award 2019

Althea Scott-Mallory

Pastor Mallory accepting the award at the spring luncheon

The Sandy Springs Society presented its 2019 Spirit of Sandy Springs award to Pastor Althea Scott-Mallory, Executive Director of U-HOPE. The award recognizes an individual in the community who exemplifies the true spirit of volunteerism and community service.

In 2008, an ill man in pajamas was brought into a church service and was placed on the floor.  Pastor Mallory heard the commotion, took the man to the hospital where she was told that he was dying and nothing could be done for him.  Knowing that the church could not help, she and her husband took him to their home. There, he slept on the sofa and started his recovery.  This man’s recovery and his healing planted the seeds to create the U-HOPE organization.

The mission statement for U-HOPE reads:  U-HOPE is a non-profit organization that has been in existence since 2008.  Our mission is to provide  safe and supportive housing for homeless men and veterans in Sandy Springs and give them the opportunity to develop the leaders within through life enrichments services.

This program consists of short term housing designed to provide 90 days of interim housing while gaining employment  Transitional housing provides for single, homeless males and veterans in the North Fulton area, 18 years and older, for up to two years.  They must be employed and pay some fees. Individualized plans are developed for each client by a case manager and social worker with the goal of integrating the men into communities where they can lead productive lives.

Pastor Mallory has an uncanny understanding of how to motivate and inspire men to move away from destructive behavior and take steps forward.  Since 2008, she has helped about 100 men and someone said of her, ” She is less than 5 feet tall, but those 5 feet are all heart! “

The Sandy Springs Society is proud to honor Pastor Althea Scott-Mallory for her work and compassion for others in the Sandy Springs community.

The recipient of the Spirit of Sandy Springs Award is chosen by an independent group of community judges from among the outstanding nominations each year.

Previous Spirit of Sandy Springs Award Recipients

1995 Kathy Klatt

1996 William Huff

1997 Eva Galambos

1998 Charles Balch

1999 James M. Anderson III

2000 Wilson McClure

2001 Willis Walter Cleveland

2002 Ham Henson

2003 Milton Gorman

2004 Linda Bain

2005 Douglas W. Kessler**

2006 Joseph Mayson

2007 D. J. DeLong

2008 Tom Umstead

2009 Guy Berger

2010 Beppie Lever

2011 Fran Farias

2012 Rich Brown

2013 Clarke Otten

2014 No Award Given

2015 Bob Knox

2016 Willis Lanier

2017 Trisha Thompson Fox

Deceased** awarded posthumously

Connect With The Sandy Springs Society:

Guidelines for Nominations for the Spirit of Sandy Springs Award

For an individual to be eligible for nomination for the Spirit of Sandy Springs Award, the following criteria must be met:

  • Nominees may not be members of The Sandy Springs Society; however, spouses and other family members are eligible.
  • Nominees may not be paid for their community service.
  • A minimum of two years of active volunteer service must be completed within the Sandy Springs area, but residence in Sandy Springs is not required.

The name of the recipient, selected by members of a Community Advisory Board, is announced at The Sandy Springs Society’s spring general meeting in May.

The Sandy Springs Society welcomes nominations for The Spirit of Sandy Springs Award from its own members and from the community at large. The Spirit Award will be presented at the spring Luncheon of the Sandy Springs Society.

Nomination forms should be mailed to:

The Sandy Springs Society
Attn: Spirit of Sandy Springs Award
P. O. Box 720074
Atlanta, GA  30358

For an application nomination form, click here (pdf)

Thank You to Our Presenting Sponsor: