The Sandy Springs Society Blue Ribbon Award was initiated in 1996-97 to encourage new members to actively participate in the Society. The recipient is chosen to honor her involvement, enthusiasm and participation in the many events of the Society.

2016 Winner

Gayle Balkcom

The SSS New Member Blue Ribbon winner for 2015-16 is Gayle Balkcom. She can be described as unassuming, dependable, hardworking, talented, kind, and fun.  She goes over and above what is expected. As an active committee member for the Evening with the Elves, she helped with set-up, decorations and with clean-up yet arrived at 7 am Saturday morning to start her shift at the Polar Express Café scooping out balls of dough from a tub onto cookie sheets, way below her talent as a real baker. Without an assigned shift she arrived again Sunday morning at 7 am and worked all day, so she wouldn’t “miss all the fun.” During TOT, she assisted every set-up day with the sales and cashier training. For the Preview Party, she loaned her personal tent to use as the refreshment area, and helped paint, bake, decorate, set-up, serve, and clean up. Gail embodies the true essence of what it means to be a member of the Sandy Springs Society, to work together for a better community.

Gayle joins the past award winners:

1997   Cynthia DeKinder
1998   Jeanette Berger
1999   Cheryl Donaldson
2000  Kathy King
2001   Bernadine Richard and Anne Wray
2002   Jean Ward
2003   Jeanine Lewis and Ann Montague
2004   Beka Whigham
2005   Carol Luther, Maxine Rosen and Brencie Werner
2006   Mary Cox
2007   Marsh Webb
2008   Minnie Bob Campbell and Polly Warren
2009   Suzanne Addicks
2010   Pam Betz and Sheldon Staples
2011   Carol Anne Hendrix
2012   Teri Cloud 
2013   Melissa Patterson
2014  Stephanie Nelson
2015  Courtney Rose